12-12-12: No. 12 rules The Super Bowl

Cold, Hard Football Facts for Dec 12, 2012

By Stephen Stone (@SrStoneSports)

Cold Hard Football Facts' AFC North Sniper

There are some who say Dan Marino never won a Super Bowl because he wore unlucky number 13. Maybe they are on to something. Turns out, some numbers have more success in the big game than others and the number 12 reigns supreme.

Maybe it's not a coincidence. Perhaps Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers picked their numbers to pay homage to Terry Bradshaw and Roger Staubach. As we celebrate 12-12-12, let's honor the current and future Hall of Fame quarterbacks who proudly wore the big one-two and went on to win the Super Bowl.

Not that number 12 is the only successful jersey number. There is strong competition from 16, 7 and 8, each having been worn by some of the greatest quarterbacks to ever play the game.

Here are all the jersey numbers that have won Super Bowls, ranked by number of wins.

Number 12 (14 winners) Super Bowl III, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, XIII, XIV,  XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX, XLV

Number 16 (seven winners) Super Bowl IV, XV, XVI, XVIII, XIX, XXIII, XIV

Number 7 (five winners) Super Bowl XVII, XXXII, XXXIII, XL, XLIII

Number 8 (five winners) Super Bowl XXVII, XXVIII, XXIX, XXX, XXXV

Number 15 (three winners) Super Bowl I, II, XXV

Number 9 (two winners) Super Bowl XX, XLIV

Number 10 (two winners) Super Bowl XLII, XLVI

Number 11 (two winners) Super Bowl XXI, XXVI

Number 4 (one winner) Super Bowl XXXI

Number 13 (one winner) Super Bowl XXXIV

Number 14 (one winner) Super Bowl XXXVII

Number 17 (one winner) Super Bowl XXII

Number 18 (one winner) Super Bowl XLI

Number 19 (one winner) Super Bowl V

Read more: CHFF Blog, NFL, Shaw, TBA

Team Pages

Connect With Us
Sign up for our newsletter to recieve all the latest news and updates...

The Football Nation Network

© Copyright 2018 Football Nation LLC. Privacy Policy & Terms of Use   Logout
Some images property of Getty Images or Icon/SMI